Parmesan Potato Bake

potatobake2Sometimes it’s the simple things that can pack a lot of flavor.

I love potatoes. I adore them. Roasted, mashed, baked. I love them all. But I love them simple, nothing too fancy.

One of the magazines I read had a recipe for Potato Galette recently, but it was just instructions to layer potatoes with cheese. It was simple and nothing fancy. I tried it a few different ways, and this is what I found best to my liking. And a serving is four Weight Watcher points.

Parmesan Potato Bake

3 small to medium Yukon gold potatoes
2-3 tbsp. olive oil
2-3 tbsp. Parmesan cheese
Salt and pepper to taste

Scrub your potatoes and you want to slice them as thin as you can. I use my mandoline with the thinnest setting to get them as thin as I want.

Toss the potatoes with the olive oil and the salt and pepper.

In a cast iron frying pan, create a layer of potatoes, having them overlap with each other. Then sprinkle some of the cheese. Then create another layer of potatoes. Sprinkle with cheese. Continue to alternate potatoes with cheese. I usually have about three layers.

Place the pan in a 400 degree oven. Bake for 30-45 minutes or until the potatoes are soft and golden on top. Cut into four wedges.

Serves four

Note: You can do this in a pie plate too, but I haven’t tried it that way. I would think you’d need to grease the pie plate.

One thought on “Parmesan Potato Bake

Leave a Reply

