Love for cookies: Oatmeal raisin

oatmealcookiesI’m catching up on everything I made for the holiday season, and it’s the time of year I bake and bake a lot. I make a hefty load of cookies and a wide variety of them before Christmas. I change things up every year (I tried lime meltaways from Smitten Kitchen this year, and they were my favorites).

But there are plenty of mainstays in the cookies I bake every year, and I can never not make oatmeal cookies. Everyone loves them, but they are my dad’s favorite. When I brought them to my parents’ house for Christmas weekend, he had a handful of cookies before I had my coat off.

My recipe isn’t that much different than what you find under the lid of your oats. My main difference is the amount of cinnamon I use and the addition of nutmeg.

Some tips on baking oatmeal cookies:

  • Always use the old fashioned oats. “Quick” oats do not work well. At all.
  • If you can find “baking raisins” in your local grocery store (I found them in Fairway recently), use them. They are moister raisins, making your cookies moister too.
  • Always mix in your oats and raisins by hand. If you do it in the mixer you will shred your oats and possibly pop your raisins.
  • Using a better vanilla makes a world of difference, as it does in every dish.

oatmealcookies2Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

1/2 cup plus 6 tablespoons butter softened
3/4 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg
Dash of salt
3 cups old-fashioned oats
1 cup raisins

Heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Beat butter and the sugars in a mixer on medium until they’re creamy.

Beat in the eggs, one at a time, and the vanilla. Beat until well mixed.

Combine the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt in a separate bowl. Add the flour mixture into the sugar and butter mixture with the mixer on low. Once the flour has mixed in a bit, you can turn the mixer to medium.

Add the oats and raisins, mixing it by hand.

Cover a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Drop teaspoons of the dough onto the sheet, separating them by 2-3 inches.

Bake cookies 8-11 minutes until golden brown. Cool at least one minute on the baking sheet before transferring to a wire rack.

2 thoughts on “Love for cookies: Oatmeal raisin

  1. Pingback: Cooking goals for 2013 | Pinch of Something

Leave a Reply

