I bought some clams and ended up with this pasta dish

clamsandluinginiI had a craving for shellfish recently. I intended to buy some mussels, clams, scallops and shrimp, but I ended up with just some clams because I couldn’t buy small batches of everything I wanted at the fish counter. But what was I going to do with them? Most often my shellfish ends up in a pasta dish.

I asked my Twitter followers what to do with the cherrystone clams, and they suggested what I usually do: clams over pasta with butter and garlic. For me, I needed some wine in my sauce too. I ended up using far too many pans and dishes, but sometimes I think you need to use every pot you own.

Here’s what I did:

I cleaned the clams and put them in a frying pan, poured in some water, salt, pepper and garlic and covered it. I steamed the clams until they all opened.

I scooped out the clams with a slotted spoon, shucked them and chopped the clams. I reserved the liquid to use in my sauce.

In a frying pan I melted some butter and cooked chopped shallots, garlic and broccoli (I always like to add a vegetable to my pasta dishes) until soft. I then added the clams, some of the reserved clam juice, wine and a squeeze of lemon juice.

At the same time I had brought a pot of salted water to a boil and started cooking linguine to toss with the clams and sauce. I cook the pasta to one minute below the al dente time on the package. I then scoop it out and add it to the clams and sauce and cook for another few minutes until the pasta has soaked up some of the sauce.

Leave a Reply

