What is the most underrated cookie?

By jim Winstead from los angeles, usa (snickerdoodles  Uploaded by JohnnyMrNinja) [CC-BY-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)], via Wikimedia CommonsI was in Whole Foods today picking up a few items (five items and I still paid $21, and they wonder why people call it “Whole Paycheck) when I happened to spot one of my favorite cookies in the bakery: Snickerdoodles.

I’ve made my own snickerdoodles (it’s not hard since it’s basically a drop sugar cookie rolled in cinnamon-sugar), but rarely do I see someone selling them in a bakery section. Chocolate chip cookies always abound followed by oatmeal cookies. Sugar cookies are usually in the mix too. Beyond that, you might not find much more of a selection. There might be something with nuts or cranberries or a different variety of chocolate chip. Peanut butter cookies also seem to be disappearing since there’s so many peanut allergies today.

So when I saw snickerdoodles, I had to grab one (or two) as a special treat today, especially since I don’t get to bake cookies as much as I’d like. I typically do most of my cookie baking in time for Christmas, but it’s at rare times the rest of the year.

As I ate my snickerdoodle this evening, I posted on Twitter how I felt it is the most underrated cookie. Of course, it got a response from my followers.

I agree with Steve about shortbread too. The only time I really get shortbread cookies is when I make it, and last Christmas was the first time I got to make a batch from scratch. I had used a mix previously. I can’t think of ever seeing shortbread in a bakery very often, probably even less often than a snickerdoodle.

As for chocolate chip cookies, they do seem a bit overrated, mainly because everyone and their mother makes them. But, to me, it can be one of the hardest cookies to master. My dad likes his chocolate chip cookies more cakey, and I’ve never been able to make them like that. I prefer them a little more chewy than crisp, so that’s how I (attempt) to make them. And over the years, chocolate chip cookies have given me the most problems. They fall flat. They burn on the bottom. I love a good chocolate chip cookie, but I’ve grown to hate making them.

I do love making (and eating) oatmeal cookies. I like to think I make a killer version. My dad only will eat my oatmeal cookies. Well, he’ll eat my mom’s oatmeal cookies and then complain that they’re not as good as mine. And how I make mine isn’t that much different than the recipe on the package of oatmeal.

That’s the long way getting to my question for you: What do you think is the most underrated cookie? Which cookie do you think is the hardest to master baking? Share your thoughts in the comments.

Photo by jim Winstead from los angeles, usa (snickerdoodlesUploaded by JohnnyMrNinja) [CC-BY-2.0], via Wikimedia Commons

Leave a Reply

