Messing around led to great honey mustard chicken

There’s something about honey mustard that I like with chicken, but I like it. The problem I have, though, is many honey mustards are too sweet or not tangy enough or just downright too creamy. The latter is awful because it’s not a good marinade nor is it as healthy as mustard should be.

So I’ve been trying to find the right balance by experimenting in the kitchen to make my own marinade. But I haven’t found the right marinade for myself. Either I can’t find something to cut the thickness well enough or it just doesn’t have enough kick.

But I liked what I accomplished in the kitchen today for my dinner. I much would have preferred to grill the chicken, but I’m an apartment dweller (as I’ve mentioned before). I cooked my chicken (which I had pounded thin and cut into smaller portions) on medium heat and it turned out well.

Here’s what I put in my marinade.

Honey
Olive oil
Dijon mustard
Chicken broth
White balsamic vinegar
Chopped garlic
Ground mustard (I would have put mustard seeds instead if I had some)
Oregano
Salt
Pepper

I whisked everything together and marinated the chicken in it for several hours. And it came out the best that I’ve been able to make so far.

I think what made the difference this time was cutting the marinade with broth to make it smoother. I basically kept adding the broth until the marinade was smooth and far less sticky and stiff. Plus I added the white balsamic vinegar this time, which I also think helped give it some more kick.

I served my chicken with corn on the cob and leftover mashed potatoes. Just for the heck of it, here’s how I make mashed potatoes:

Small red potatoes (creamer potatoes or even Yukon gold potatoes are my favorites)
Butter
Milk
Sea salt
Pepper
Garlic powder
Onion powder
Old Bay seasoning (optional)

Cut the red potatoes into small pieces and place them in a pot (I leave the skins on them, so make sure they are scrubbed well)). Cover with water. Place a lid on the pot and bring to a boil over high heat. Once it comes to a boil, I tilt the lid on the top. Cook until the potatoes are fork tender.

I sometimes also will cook onion (up to a whole onion cut up mattering how much I’m making) with the potatoes too.

Drain the potatoes and either put them back into the pot or in a bowl. I first put two to three tablespoons of butter (mattering how many potatoes there are) in with the potatoes. I then add the salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. My sister and I sometimes add Old Bay seasoning too, but not every time. Then mash the potatoes with a potato masher. Then add the milk and continue to mash, alternating adding milk and mashing until the potatoes are the consistency you want. I like my potatoes slightly thicker and not completely smooth. I like lumps, but not everyone does.

I find that I need to taste the potatoes in order to make sure they are seasoned well enough. If they do not have enough seasoning, I will add more until it’s right. This is a good thing to do with a lot of dishes where you can taste it to test if the seasoning is right. I do it with soups a lot too.

One thought on “Messing around led to great honey mustard chicken

  1. Pingback: Brown sugar saves dinner | Pinch of Something

Leave a Reply

