Experimenting with rice pilaf

Last weekend I bought scallops at the local farmers market. I didn’t want to serve it with potatoes. I wanted something a little lighter, and I thought to make rice. I did not want to make just plain rice, though it’s never just plain rice for me since I’ll usually use a broth or stock in place of water.

So I started hunting around for a rice pilaf recipe on Google, and I found this simple recipe. I made a few simple changes and came up with something I was quite happy with.

Mushroom rice pilaf

2 tbsp butter1/2 cup orzo pasta
1/4 cup chopped scallions
1/4 cup chopped shallots2 cloves garlic chopped
1/2 cup to 1 cup of chopped mushrooms
1/2 cup uncooked white rice
2 cups chicken broth
Salt and pepper to taste

Melt the butter in a saucepan and add the pasta. As the pasta starts to brown, add the scallions, shallots, garlic and mushrooms. Continue to cook until the vegetables are soft and the pasta is browned.

Add the salt, pepper, rice and the broth to the pot. Cover tightly, bring to a boil and lower the heat. Simmer for 20-15 minutes or until most of the liquid has been absorbed. Let stand for at least five minutes and then fluff when you serve.

Makes about four servings.

I was conservative with the mushrooms with closer to 1/2 a cup, and I think I could have had more in the dish. Next time I will add more mushrooms to the dish. I also used baby bella mushrooms, but I would assume you can use whatever mushrooms you like best for a different flavor.

In addition to the scallops, I served this with roasted vegetables.

Leave a Reply

