Sundays are made for French toast

Some people like to read the newspaper cover to cover on Sundays. I like to make French toast. I grew up with my dad making French toast for me as a kid, though he always cooked it on Saturday mornings for my sister and me. It was from him I learned how to make it, but I have made some changes to it over the years. He likes his French toast a little more savory than I do.

I don’t always make French toast every Sunday. It matters if I have enough time, and there are some Saturdays I make it because I have the time. But the biggest reason is because I bought a loaf of bakery bread the day before and have leftovers.

I usually pair my French toast with either turkey sausage or turkey bacon (here it was the latter). I also use drizzle basic maple syrup on it.

Update: I updated my recipe to include some tweaks I’ve made. I now add nutmeg and have increased the amount of vanilla I use.

How I make it:

Sliced bread
1-2 eggs
1/2 to 1 cup milk
1 tbsp vanilla (I like the bourbon variety)
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
Cinnamon sugar for dusting
Butter

Crack the eggs into a bowl. Add the milk, vanilla and cinnamon. Whisk the ingredients together.

Heat a skillet over medium to medium-high heat. Melt one tablespoon of butter.

Dip the bread into the egg mixture so it soaks up some of the eggs. Leave the bread in longer if it’s older to soften it.

Arrange bread in the skillet. Flip the bread when it’s golden brown. Cook the other side until it’s also golden brown. Remove it from the pan to a dish. Dust it with cinnamon sugar (replace it with powdered sugar if you prefer).

Repeat the process if there is more bread: Add another tablespoon of butter to the pan, dunk the bread in the egg mixture, place it in the pan and cook until it’s golden brown on both sides.

Serve it with the syrup of your choice.

3 thoughts on “Sundays are made for French toast

  1. Pingback: My first attempt at making pancakes from scratch | Pinch of Something

Leave a Reply

