Comfort foods: Pizza cures all

I had a pretty stressful day on Wednesday, and I’m one of those people who wants to eat something that gives me comfort when I have a bad day. One of my comfort foods is pizza, and I’ve come to enjoy making my own.

But I cut corners for a variety of reasons. First, my kitchen is pretty small. Also, I don’t have a stand-up mixer of my own to make dough. So I buy the dough in the grocery store. I also use bottled sauce, though it’s a high-end sauce. I also use fresh basil (I have a plant on my window sill) and fresh mozzarella (bought at the farmers’ market).

I’m not a pizza expert who owns a pizza stone or any other special pizza gear. I just have a pizza pan. I stretch the dough as wide as I can to fit the pan. I then brush the dough with some olive oil (my mother did this when I was a kid, so I just continue to do it).

Then I spread the sauce on the dough, leaving at least one inch at the edge. I chop up some fresh basil, which I then spread on top of the tomato sauce. The mozzarella goes next.

If I put toppings on my pizza, it goes last. I have used a variety of toppings from turkey pepperoni to roasted vegetables (one of my favorite toppings) to sliced meatballs.

I bake the pizza in a 400-425 degree oven for 20-30 minutes. I want the crust to be golden brown, but I don’t want it to be too done.

One thought on “Comfort foods: Pizza cures all

  1. Pingback: Cooking with dietary restrictions | Pinch of Something

Leave a Reply

