Roasting vegetables adds a different flavor

Most people think the only way to have vegetables and for it to be healthy is by steaming them and with nothing on them. And that can be great with some vegetables, but sometimes I need a little more flavor with my vegetable. Roasting does that for me, and I do it year round.

This is my recipe:

4 cups various vegetables
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
Salt
Pepper
Garlic
Thyme
Rosemary

Toss everything together in a bowl. Add slightly more olive oil if you need more to coat the vegetables (I find I need this when I use eggplant or mushrooms). All of the spices are to taste, so add as much or as little as you like.

Place the vegetables on a baking sheet in a preheated oven at 400 degrees. Cook for 15-20 minutes, turn the vegetables, cook for another 15-20 minutes until done.

The key to this recipe is experimenting with different vegetables. Root vegetables like carrots seem like the obvious choice, but there are plenty of other things that work well in this recipe. My favorites to use are onions, zucchini, eggplant, carrots, peppers and asparagus. I also have used mushrooms and broccoli. I tried green beans the other night, though I wasn’t impressed. But experiment for what works best for you.

I find roasting vegetables brings out a different flavor in the vegetables, which I love. But be careful about overcooking them. It’s OK if the vegetables are slightly crispy or brown, but you don’t want them blackened. You’ll kill all the flavor if you overcook them, just like with everything else.

This recipe easily can be doubled (though I’ve never tripled it). It also saves well in the refrigerator and reheat well. I’ve included them in other dishes, like as a pizza topping too. You even can eat the leftovers cold in something like a salad.

If you’re on Weight Watchers, 1/2 cup of this roasted vegetables is only 1 point. Plus you’ll get some healthy oil into your daily meals.

2 thoughts on “Roasting vegetables adds a different flavor

  1. Pingback: Experimenting with rice pilaf | Pinch of Something

  2. Pingback: Brown sugar saves dinner | Pinch of Something

Leave a Reply

